May 2 Board of Directors’ election

Request an absentee ballot through April 25 or vote in-person in Vail, EagleVail, or Edwards on Election Day (May 2)

Six people are running for three open seats on the Eagle River Water & Sanitation District board of directors. There are three polling places at which voters may cast ballots or people are encouraged to vote by mail by completing an application for absentee ballot. Election day is May 2.

Who’s running?

The candidates, in order on the certified ballot, are:

  • Director District 2: Dick Cleveland
  • Director District 4: Christian E. Neuswanger, Todd Williams, and Sarah Smith Hymes
  • Director District 6: Robert Warner, Jr., and Michael C. Towler

Candidate information is available here.

What are Director Districts, and can I vote for all of them?
The district is divided into seven director districts, each representing a geographic area within the district’s East Vail to Cordillera service area boundary. All directors are elected at-large, meaning electors may vote for all director districts. Directors will be elected to a four-year term.

How did candidates get on the ballot?
The district’s Designated Election Official received six self-nomination forms by the Feb. 24 statutory deadline. On Mar. 2, a lot drawing was held to determine the order in which the candidates would be listed on the ballot.

How can I vote?

Determine if you are an eligible elector

To vote in a Special District election, a person must be an Eligible Elector of such District. As defined in the Special District Act, an Eligible Elector is:
A person who is registered to vote in Colorado; AND is either:

  • A resident of the special district; OR
  • A person (or spouse or civil union partner thereof) who owns taxable real or personal property within the District (whether or not such person resides within the District); OR
  • A person who is obligated to pay taxes under a Contract to Purchase taxable property.

Vote early by absentee ballot

Request an Application for Absentee Ballot.

  • The application must be personally signed (no e-signatures).
  • Eligible electors may request to be added to the district’s permanent absentee voter list by checking the appropriate box on the application.

Submit your application to the district’s designated elected official by the 4 p.m. April 25, 2023, deadline.

  • Drop it off or mail it to the district office at 846 Forest Road, Vail, CO 81657. Attn: DEO
  • Scan or take a picture of your completed, hand-signed application and email it as an attachment to .

Receive your absentee ballot at your mailing address starting Apr. 3.

Return your ballot to the designated election official by 7 p.m. on election day, May 2.

  • Drop it off or mail it to the district office at 846 Forest Road, Vail, CO 81657.
    • Ballots received after election day will not be counted (UOCAVA ballots will be counted until May 10).
  • Drop it off at any of the three polling places from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on election day.

Vote in person on election day

On May 2, polling places will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. and are designated as follows.

Eagle River Water & Sanitation District office EagleVail Pavilion Edwards Field House
846 Forest Road 538 Eagle Rd. 450 Miller Ranch Rd.
Vail, CO  81657 Avon, CO  81620 Edwards, CO  81632


Voter registration information is on the Eagle County Elections and Voter Information page.

For more information, contact designated election official Brian Thompson at or 970-477-5451.