District celebrates employees

Professional development and longevity crucial to organizational success


Eagle River Water & Sanitation District celebrated its employees’ outstanding performance, longevity, and certifications earned.

ERWSD values awards winners – (L to R): Parker Newbanks, Dan Caffery, Cat Hayes, Amy Vogt, Woodson Spring, Ali Kelkenberg, Kailey Rosema (not pictured: Wade McCaulley)

Eight individuals were recognized for strong commitment to district organizational values:

  • Accountability – Kailey Rosema
  • Community Partnership – Amy Vogt
  • Customer Confidence – Woodson Spring
  • Environmental Stewardship – Cat Hayes
  • Leadership and Continuous Improvement – Parker Newbanks
  • Long Range Planning and Preparation – Wade McCaulley
  • Personnel Dedication – Ali Kelkenberg
  • Service – Daniel Caffery

Laboratory Supervisor Leah Cribari earned the Employee of the Year award for her willingness to jump in and help at every opportunity, her ongoing commitment to both her own learning and development and that of others, and her drive to connect teams and push the district’s mission and vision forward.

ERWSD laboratory supervisor Leah Cribari was named employee of the year.


The annual Bennie’s Breakfast began in 1988 when its’ namesake, Bennie Atencio, became the first employee to reach 20 years of service to the district. Recognizing that the knowledge of such tenured employees is crucial to organizational success, district leadership has continued to highlight longevity and has seen many employees surpass the 20-year mark.

The district acknowledges employees for milestone years of service and recognized 14 employees for reaching five-, 10-, 15-, 20-, and 25-year anniversaries in 2019.

25 years – Scott Morrow

20 years – Linn Brooks and Bobby Mascarenas

15 years – Fred Fernandez and Louise Reiter

10 years – Leah Cribari, Tony Matteo, and Dan Siebert

5 years – Craig Hoffman, Rick Martinez, Melissa Marts, Melissa Mills McLoota, Byron Nelson, and Tony Roberts


ERWSD longevity honorees – (L to R): Melissa Marts, Fred Fernandez, Leah Cribari, Linn Brooks, Dan Siebert, Melissa McLoota, Tony Roberts, Byron Nelson, Rick Martinez, Tony Matteo


34 employees achieved 54 professional certifications in 2018, which reflects the district’s emphasis on professional development. All staff members are encouraged to seek additional training to boost individual expertise, learn new technology, and stay abreast of industry trends, which ensures excellent public water and wastewater system operations for the community.


Additionally, district safety coordinator Dan Siebert recognized the staff of the district’s wastewater treatment facility in Avon for their attentiveness to identifying and remedying any potential safety issue.


Contact: Melissa Mills McLoota, Human Resources Manager, 970-476-7480